E. dancevisions.ny@gmail.com
P. 516-482-2621

Reviews and Testimonials

Two Reviews by Leonard Lehrman on Soundwordsight.com of two of our programs from 2019 and write-up in Oberon’s Grove

Dance Visions NY presented a lovely afternoon at the Whitman Birthplace in Huntington, NY... built on the intersection of Whitman words and Isadora Duncan dances, including a fascinating piece of Soviet realism with1920s music by Michael Sheyne. ....Every minute of the event was enjoyable.

http://www.soundwordsight.com/2019/09/catching-up-on-six-summer-events-seven-cds-by-leonard-lehrman/

For “Take Root" at Greenspace, Dance Visions NY's Earth trilogy ".... both stirring and moving... a highlight was Jucovy’s gorgeous “Undine” solo with flowing rivulets on her dress...

http://www.soundwordsight.com/2019/06/3-cds-3-concerts-2-operas-a-dance-recital/


"...Beth danced these solos in full performance mode, deeply involved and vibrantly expressive; it was so generous of her to share these unique works with us.”

From Write-up by Philip Gardner on “Oberon’s Grove” from rehearsal for “Sans Limites Festival 2019



Three Dance NYC, Audience Reviews of Earth Trilogy and Delicate Web

"Beth Jucovy, brought life and purpose to the extraordinary dances....'Earth Trilogy' was insightful, poignant, timely and just plain important. Bravo to all involved!"

Martha Theodos


"dancers in collage
inspire timeless movement
dancing for the earth"

Susan Ruth Cohen


"I was truly touched and impacted by this work....this is a work of strong conviction, beautifully executed. The juxtaposition of the many pieces of music was haunting... All in all, the performance left me with strong emotions, with a glimpse of hope, which is in our hands."

Dorothy Reiser



Earlier Dance Visions NY Reviews

"Filled with colorful costumes, introspective narration, provocative visuals and a variety of music, spanning the last century from classical to blues." "incorporated long swatches of fabric...extending each movement into the infinite... creating a feeling of floating." [About Through the Portals]: "... a tour-de-force... it appeared as if they were arising from the art, becoming its living embodiment... creating chiaroscuro of movement."

Stephen Vrattos, Queens Courier, North Shore Towers, June 2018


The Alexandroff Ensemble’s Red Army Choir accompanies the evening’s most powerful dance with (Dance Visions NY's) “Varshavianca.” … When it was over, the woman on my right said incredulously to her companion, 'I’m crying' So was I. It's too bad that persistent but tragic advance did not end the program.

Deborah Jowitt, DanceBeat (From Isadora in the 21st Century program at the 92nd St Y with several Duncan dance companies)


"In a swirl of vivid tunics and Strauss music, the six women of Dance Visions NY breathed life into Isadora Duncan’s Roses from the South.... (recreation by Beth Jucovy)"

at Liberty Dance Festival Sept. 2018, Erin Bomboy, the Dance Enthusiast


This past October’s Danse Macabre event (10/30/2016), featuring Dance Visions NY, under the direction of Beth Jucovy, was a superb example of the integration of the arts and community which is manifest at Cedarmere, indoors and out. Ms. Jucovy is a greatly accomplished dancer and choreographer, who enthusiastically embraces the challenges of adapting her work and that of Isadora Duncan to whatever scale and material conditions exist. Her professionalism, and that of her entire company, makes for a joyful collaborative experience which strongly communicates to audiences. Cedarmere is still resonating from this mutually collective engagement, and will continue proudly and with keen interest to sponsor Dance Visions NY in its unique site-specific, multi-media intersections of place and performance.

Paul Baserman, Events Chair for The Friends of Cedarmere


Dance Visions NY transported everyone in Hempstead House back to the turn of the last century, when Isadora Duncan created new ways for dancers to move, new ways of telling stories through dance, new ways of interpreting femininity.I've seen many dance performances throughout my whole life, and this was one of the most enchanting experiences ever. Our thanks to choreographer Beth Jucovy - she preserves the legendary choreographer's [Isadora Duncan] work and creates her own extraordinary pieces with Isadora's inspiration.

Beth Horn, 7/16, Managing Director, Sands Point Preserve


...when danced with clarity, musicality, and conviction, as they were at this performance,(the works) are touching and exhilarating...Jucovy filled the unornamented movements with quiet intensity...(the dancers) bounded like racing does until falling to Earth after an excess of ecstasy.

Joseph Mazo, Newsday


Jucovy revives a lost art... (she) is an authority on Isadora Duncan's dances. (The dances) looked authentic and interesting.

Dora Sowden, Jerusalem Post


The opening "Three Graces" was impressively performed by Beth Jucovy, Julie Finch, and Adrienne Ramm. To Chopins' Preludes and Waltzes Jucovy and Ramm brought ardor, Jucovy being particularly lyrical in her soft balance, and gently jumped ballons. ...she danced with evident zest in Hortense Kooluris' Nell Gwyn Suite... Ramm had the look of the famous Walkowitz pen and ink drawings of Isadora in motion. She projected a joyousness in the simple skips, swirls and runs that effectively invoked the Duncan spirit.

Hillary Ostlere, Chelsea Clinton News


Through The Portals.... Beth Jucovy's choreography was inspired. Colors blending, separating, merging, twirling--having been a painter most of my life, it was as if I was watching paintings being created and dissolving and coming together again... I I could watch Through the Portals over and over...

Dorothy Reiser, The Dance Enthusiast


Thank you so much for the incredible performance of ColorSong Universe and Other Works at the Jericho Library on October 12th, 2014. The patrons were raving about the program. One woman said “The program was so special I could feel the colors come to life

Phylis Cox; Program Director Jericho Public Library


The program was just amazing. What creativity all around! The joy of seeing art in motion, music in motion was phenomenal. The event was beautiful, colorful, eventful, expansive

Mary Guariglia, Life Coach, Access Consciousness


A great Dance troupe called Dance Visions who re-created performances by Dance pioneers like Isadora Duncan. A complete smashing, sensual success.

Video Bloggers MarkandLynnearefamished


A program worth seeing is Dance Visions latest presentation of Color Song. Beth Jucovy’s choreograpy captures the magic of Susan Cohens book!

Marylyn Tobin Varraile, Composer/Song writer, Musical Theater Director


Thank you so much for the great performance. You, all your dancers, the pianists, all the performers were just wonderful! Congratulations!

Edie Kalickstein,Program Director, Long Beach Library


The [Colorsong] book comes alive with imagination, creativity and lots of wonderful choreography

Ken Grimball, News 12 Long Island


With the soothing sounds of the cascading waters of the Bethesda Fountain, the slow-moving ripples of the Central Park Lake and the nearly cloudless blue sky, Duncan herself must have given her blessing to the event.

Bonnie Rosenstock, Explore Dance: Duncan dances in Central Park


... Always so professional and innovative this particular program was even more beautiful. ... (Blurred Boundaries) touched my heart and brought tears to my eyes. I saw a few tears in the audience as well. The multi-media portion was exquisite and different....Shirley Romaine's narration brings it all together. The dancers are exceptional.

Phylis Cox, PR/ programming coordinator, Jericho Library


Regarding Summer Residency: performing "Dreamscape" at Long Island Children's Museum:

... the choreography was very accessible and often fun and playful/ the movement was beautiful and physically impressive. The pieces included many elements of dance... the dancers were of high caliber. They all had tremendous fun ,,, which certainly translated to the audience...

Jim Packard, Theater Manager Long Island Children's Museum


You did it again! Thank you so much for the beautiful performance at Jericho yesterday..., Your latest show, Dances of Nature/Dances of Interactions, was just incredible. The staging, costumes, choreography and precision of movement was just such a pleasure to watch... I love to hear the comments of the audience...."I'm so glad I came", "I was so surprised at how professional the dancing was", "Will you have them back again?". It makes me smile. It's always a wonderful day when you perform here.

Phylis Cox, PR/ programming coordinator, Jericho Library


The audience loved it!

Edie Kalickstein, Program Director, Long Beach Library


Regarding Summer Residency: performing Dances of Nature and dances of Interactions at Long Island Children's Museum:

... a wonderful collaboration… this Summer we worked [with Beth Jucovy and her dancers] on two wonderful programs which entailed more than 8 performances in 2 months. They were able to bring quality performances for a young audience and their parents and grandparents and introduced these people to artistic concepts, creation and interpretation of Modern Dance.

Jim Packard, Long Island Children’s Museum


I understand you got “rave “after “rave.” Thank you for the splendid program. You SOAR! A patron left a note saying “I found the Duncan program… mind boggling, wonderful, beautiful, upliftingingly rewarding

Edie Kalickstein, Program Director, Long Beach Library


OUTSTANDING! Some of the high school students came by my office to tell me that your program A world of Jazz was one of the nicest performances FOTAs(Friends of the Arts) brought to HVS…. THANK YOU

Jill Carroll, Principal, Henry Viscardi School


…Splendid performance of A World of Dance…you manage to educate us about modern dance – as you entertain. We come away from your programs wanting to see more – feeling enriched and so glad we came.

Edie Kalickstein, Program Director, Long Beach


I was even more impressed (if possible) than the last time you performed here. A World of Dance was exquisite. Everything was perfect...the music, choreography and the dancers. The company outdid themselves….… Not a person left…The patrons were delighted and so complimentary. One woman said “We don’t even have to go to Manhattan."

Phyllis L. Cox Programming, Jericho Public Library


I think you amazed our audience. they couldn't stop talking to me for several ays afterwards. I was amazed at how smoothly it all went. We never had so much going on in one performance... with something in it for everyone. I commend you for such an undertaking.

Nadine Connors, cultural programs. Hewlett Woodmere Public Library


The dancing was beautiful, the material interesting, and the connection with the audience immediate and palpable. It was clear form the children's faces and reactions that they were absorbed and fascinated by what they saw. the audience participation was done in a very meaningful way.

Toby Glickman, United Nations International school, Queens


Wonderful performance of Visionaries, Revolutionaries and Mavericks. Our audience clearly enjoyed... despite the bad weather nearly 200 people, young and old, attended.

Elizabeth Olesh, Port Washington Library Program Director


A beautifully performed program.

Philip Jackson, Queens Museum of Art


The audience was moved to tears by the performance, truly a beautiful experience for all.

Mary Jane Bolin, Nassau BOCES


I am proud to be associated with a program supporting such talent and beauty.

Joan Savary, NGA coordinator


Your program "Isadora" was truly divine... enchanting dancers, splendid musicians, enormously gifted Shirley romaine... our audience was totally charmed by all of you.

Aviva Crown, Cultural Programming specialist, Plainview Bethpage Library


From classical ballet to a diverse sampling of distinctive modern, mixed with a dollop of jazz... residents were treated to Dance with a capital D...The most amazing thing about this performance was the versatility of the dancers...The audience loved the finale- Passages which was fun and crescendoed into an upbeat hats-in-the-air ending. The program (Dance old and New ... the Spirit and the Passion) was a grand introduction (to dance).

Arlrne Saiki, Great Neck Record


Beth Jucovy

From performances with Downtown Ballet Company

Beth Rosenbluth (Jucovy) was the poignant antagonized protagonist to the life (about the piece "Julia de Burgos")

Bill Zakariasen, Daily News


Beth Jucovy was outstanding in a drama of Puerto Rican poet Julia de Burgos

Byron Belt, Long Island Press


Particularly good were Mecedes Lois, a Spanish dancer and Beth Jucovy, who had the title role.

Bob Micklin, Newsday


Everyone's heart was in the right place at the R. F. Kennedy Theater for children, where the Downtown Ballet Company opened a run...

Anna Kisselgoff, New York Times


The dancers possess plenty of spirit and good humor which communicated well with the children in the audience.

Bill Zakarisen, Daily News


From performances with Ameridance International

...especially outstanding was Beth Jucovy, who possesses a dancing musicality and is a pleasure to watch.

Eva Fisher, Munich Mercur


The New Yorker, Beth Jucovy, shows in her solo 'I Hear a Symphony' illusions in grace and charm.

Hiel, South West Tagespost, Graz, Austria


From performances with Andrew Jannetti and Dancers

(About Nightshades)...a short but serene work that accented sustained balance well as exquisite nuance by the dancers ...( with Beth Jucovy)

Jennie Schulman, Backstage


(About the dancers) They are each expressive and strong as individual soloists and ensemble members... He's got a great team of dancers.

Jennings, Attitude


From Isadora Duncan dance concerts, including Beth Jucovy and Adrienne Ramm

Moments of great beauty- fluid bodies in silk tunics, fervent skippings and lovely supple arms.

Deborah Jowitt, the Village Voice


Highly successful... joyous, wonderfully wild nymphs.

Anna Kisselgoff, The New York Times


A rewarding program that touched the heart...showed remarkable grace in the nearly impossible haunting evocations they sustained...enthralling program.

Robert Kimball, New York Post


Full of delightful moments... These were wonderful images...like splendid Amazons asserting their power with spectacular leaps and bold stances... seemed to epitimize the spirit of Duncan, a fierce boldness of spirit and passionate surrendor to the senses.

Pikula, Dance Magazine


The choreography looked beautiful. These dances possess great choreographic integrity. Everything in them is emotionally and formally clear... when dancers marched exultantly they appeared to be gathering forces of light... one sensed the tides of the seas... Duncan possessed great formal powers. Her choreography still has impact... a celebration of hope.

Jack Anderson, The New York Times


(the five dancers) were as impressive as an entire corps de ballet,their kinetic flow recalling the simple yet miraculous rhythms of human breath... There several effective solos. In the 'Scriabin Etudes' Ms. Jucovy was tender as a mother, Ms. Ramm was impressive in Duncan,s portrait of a Revolutionary.

Jack Anderson, The New York Times


Joy, in the subtlest gradations, from tranquilty to abandon... the love and harmony of Duncan's work was everywhere present.

Marion Sawyer, Chelsea Clinton News


Memories of Isadora slid across the live action like transparencies across a screen.

Stephanie Woodward, Village Voice


Events

Upcoming Events

I Hear America Singing, I See America Dancing, in Long Beach

Nov. 24, 2019, 2:30 p.m.

Long Beach Library, 111 W Park Ave., Long Beach NY

2019 is the 200th birthday anniversary of poet Walt Whitman (May 31, 1819) and we celebrate his legacy with an Isadora Duncan dance program in his honor: I Hear America singing, I See America Dancing. Isadora Duncan was greatly influenced by Whitman, calling him her spiritual teacher. We will pay tribute to these two kindred spirits through word, dance and music.  Excerpts of  poems by Whitman are illustrated by complementary Duncan dances. Pianist Mark Fiedler will play many of these works live, to the music of Chopin, Brahms, Gluck, Strauss, Schubert and we are excited to have revived "Labor/Famine" created by Irma Duncan to the music of Micheal Sheyne. To learn more about Whitman, Duncan and their connection as well as about this program, see this article in the French publication, IdEas, by Adeline Chevrier-Bosseau.  Ticket Info

30-30-30 YEAR-END DANCE CELEBRATION

Dec. 30, 2019, 7 p.m.

Dixon Place, 161A Chrystie St., New York, NY

We will present "Reflection," solo from my work, Landscapes, which will be performed by dancer Ligia Gaissionok for 30-30-30. Join Dixon Place for this very special celebratory finale on Monday, December 30th, featuring 30 dance companies showcasing 3 minutes of work each, saluting the close of the 33rd Anniversary Year for NYC’s pre-eminent artistic incubator. http://dixonplace.org/performances/30-30-30-2019/ Tickets:  https://tinyurl.com/y6fe65nx 212-219-0736: Ticket Info

Duncan Dance, Ballet, Jazz and Nickolaus Technique of Body-conditioning for Adults!

Jan. 8, 2020, 1:30 p.m.


Great Neck Community Education, 30 Cumberland Ave., Great Neck, 11020, Call 516 441 4949 for more info or to register.



NEW Winter session: Classes for Adults!  Classical Creative Dance/Isadora Dance- Wednesdays at 1:30, Ballet for Adults- Thursdays 1:00,  Body-Conditioning- the Nickolaus Technique, Fridays at 11:30. and Jazz Dance, Fridays at 1:15- 2:30.  Join anytime! Classes Pro-rated. 

ALSO ongoing Classes for Children and Adults!  Ballet,  Body-conditioning, Privates available www.childrendancing.net 516 314 2359

 


Ticket Info
Past Events

Fast Forward at Dixon place

Description: We are delighted to be part of a  shared evening program along with Double Take Dance for Fast Forward at Dixon Place. We are presenting Earth Trilogy, a three-part work. The first section includes Isadora Duncan dance solos that celebrate the wonders of our natural world. The second section, Delicate Web, created in collaboration with the performers, depicts how we, humankind, in our self-absorption, have destroyed the precious natural world that we have taken for granted. It alludes to the present-day issues that will challenge us even more drastically in the future…. unless we take extremely dramatic action.  The 3rd section, Hymn, is a prayer for the  Earth.  Hymn is in juxtaposition with, and serves as an aftermath for, Delicate Web. Program includes Tzena as poetry reader, Willow Interfaith Women's Choir, and our ten dancer/collaborators.

Timeless Dances for UUCSR

Description:

Dance Visions NY presents a multi-faceted dance/art program including new original Jucovy works and also newly revised stagings of authentic Isadora Duncan dances on the beautiful grounds of the UUCSR. Performance is inside and out at Veatch House. Included is live music featuring the UU’s own Willow Women’s Choir under the direction of Farah Chandu and also percussionist Napoleon Revels-Bey. These artist have created music pieces specifically for Jucovy’s new dance works. In addition Jucovy’s “Tangos” to the music of Astor Paizzolla is featured. This program is made possible with funds from the Decentralization Program, a regrant program of the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor M. Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and administered by The Huntington Arts Council.

Kindred Wayfarers, The Pageant

Description:

“Kindred Wayfarers” is an Original Theatrical Pageant conceived and under the direction of Paul Baserman, combining the creative forces of Beth Jucovy, Scott Payne & Fred Stroppel–featuring actors, musicians and  Dance Visions NY. 

Raindate is 9/28, 2:00 pm

Kindred Wayfarers

Description:

“Kindred Wayfarers” is an Original Theatrical Pageant conceived and under the direction of Paul Baserman, combining the creative forces of Beth Jucovy, Scott Payne & Fred Stroppel–featuring volunteer players and local musicians, with Dance Visions NY, including grand finalé by the water and reception. Raindate is 9/15, 5:30 pm. Dance Visions NY's participation in this project is made possible with funds from the Decentralization Program, a regrant program of the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor M. Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and administered by The Huntington Arts Council.

Dance Visions NY at the Isadora Duncan International Symposium

Description:

Dance Visions NY was delighted to have played a significant role in the 4th bi-ennual Isadora Duncan International Symposium. Company presentations included a fascinating panel/discussion on the future of Duncan dance with  dancers Louisa Cathcart, Hope Kroog, Shannon McMullan and  Cathleen Deutscher, facilitated by Beth Jucovy. Also Beth presented a workshop "Duncan Dance as Music, as Poetry" and a showing, "The Poetry of Duncan Dances" which featured excerpts of Kyra Jucovy's epic poem, "The Power and Subject," juxtaposed with diverse works of Duncan repertory. In addition Beth and Adrienne Ramm performed together again, in Adrienne's showing " Dances of Eternity" The symposium, truly international, was a fascinating and inspiring experience for all involved. 



Contact

E. dancevisions.ny@gmail.com
P. 516-482-2621